top of page

Blackberries



In years past, our development had an overgrowth of [numerous] blackberry briars. However, due to the recent construction on those few remaining lots most of the blackberry briars are gone.


My granddaughter and I were down at the construction site this evening, while standing on the back porch see caught sight of a remnant row of several briars that remain. She immediately wanted to go down pick and eat the ripe ones. It wasn't long until all the ones within arms reach were gone. I told her the remaining red ones might be ripe enough to eat by the next day.


The next morning she wanted to see if any more were ripe.....sure enough we could see "quiet a few" eye catching big berries. Down the ladder, and off the back porch she went to pick and eat again. The sounds...M'm! These are delicious! Made my heart smile.


Once she had eaten all the ones behind the house she searched for more. I remembered when I was leaving the site yesterday I saw a few briars to the side of the drive. I told her I know where a few more are located. The look in her eyes...sheer glee! Moments like these can't be bought.


Cherish the small things! Kids grow up fast. My grandson isn't old enough to pick blackberries yet but he sure loves to talk with his sister... who knows maybe he is telling her I will pick some next year while jibber jabbering sitting on the porch. Lol.


Everything has a time and a season!"Blackberries"


The moral of the story---Enjoy life and the things that God has given us to enjoy! M'm M'm good!


Sometimes a slower pace of life re-energizes the mind and heart!




 

Genesis 1:31 King James Version

31 And God saw every thing that he had made, and, behold, it was very good.




bottom of page