top of page

Snow!




Last night I opened the door and walked out on the porch to see if it was snowing before I went to bed. Not one snowflake in sight! Have you ever noticed the clouds before a snow storm? They look so heavy and fluffy, there is a quiet that you can almost hear. It's like a whisper that you can feel in some magical way. So weird...yet so exhilarating. I love that feeling. Anyway--I come inside knowing there would be snow come morning.


Yep there is snow-- that cold powdery white fluff fell from the sky while I was sleeping. It's time to get out the gloves, toboggan, goose down parka, winter boots, ear muffs, ski bibs, snow shovel, and face mask. Oh... I forgot the scarf. I must go outside. It's like some strange scientific force of nature is pulling me outside.


Our first big snow this year! Makes me think of the lyrics to the song "Let it Snow" by Dean Martin.


"Oh, the weather outside is frightful

But the fire is so delightful

And since we've no place to go

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow"


When I sing those lyrics...I feel like the scrooge. Bah humbug! I don't want it to snow and snow....


Nevertheless, I enjoy the purity of the snow. It feels so clean, so refreshing.

I took a photo of my patio...my hibiscus, and other plants have all died. The chairs are snow-covered, the firepit is standing tall--as if to say look I can measure the snow.


My goal this year is to find joy even in the things that I don't really like. So I find joy knowing that my planter will be filled with blooms, new life, a sweet smelling fragrance, and numerous dreaded insects soon! Those chairs will be a place I can rest. And...my firepit will have glowing embers from a fire again!


 

Psalm 51:7 "Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean: wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow."


Isaiah 1:18 "Come now, and let us reason together, saith the Lord: though your sins be as scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they be red like crimson, they shall be as wool."









bottom of page