top of page

Virtual Mamaw

When I was growing up who would have ever thought that we would be able to talk and see people through a cellphone. We didn't even have cordless phones. The Jetsons on TV made us dream it would be possible one day. It sure does come in handy!


My grandson, Henry Callan McFall was born 11-12-2019 since his birth I have learned to be a virtual mamaw, my hearts desire is to hop in the car and visit him daily. Since we live miles apart we can only visit every couple weeks (that was the plan); however, due to unforeseen circumstances (Coronavirus pandemic) we haven't seen him in 2 months. "Sigh".


FaceTime has become our communication connection to Henry. We talk to him everyday (numerous times) through FaceTime and he has learned to communicate back to us. Our conversation usually starts like "Hey Buddy, whatcha doing". Then I proceed, "Can you say mamaw, or dada or mom mom"? Yes it sounds silly when I write it out- yet this is a daily conversation that I have with Henry. Just recently his mom will kiss him on the cheek and he will kiss her back..my heart smiles! His dad (Rob) whistles to him and he will pucker up and try his best to whistle also. The random giggles and squeals at Lucy the Labradoodle, Rylee the Bichon, and Mickey Mouse on TV brings smiles and giggles to us, as well.


Things that you should experience in person have been experienced through a virtual interaction on my phone. We have watched him learn to coo, take his first bottle, first foods, first giggles, the ability to sit in his bouncer, the ability to pick up things and experience them through touch. Many video clips sent to us almost daily ...that are shared with great grandma's and friends. We say I love you over and over. I want my grandson to know my voice, my laugh, my whistle, my smiles, and to know he is loved!


Go away Covid-19 and never come back!

 



 

Matthew 19:14 King James Version

14 But Jesus said, Suffer little children, and forbid them not, to come unto me: for of such is the kingdom of heaven.

bottom of page