top of page

Summer "Fireflies"


When I was young in the heat of summer we couldn't wait until dusk so we could chase fireflies all through the yard in hopes that we could fill our mason jar with the glow of little flashes of light. Oh the squeals and laughter that echoed throughout our yard as we caught them mid-flight. We would punch holes in the lid of the mason jar so they wouldn't suffocate.


My dad was meticulous about safety. He wouldn't let us hold that jar. We had to leave it on the outside table next to the door. Mom and dad wanted us to experience fun things; nevertheless, my dad would go in great detail explaining to us-- all the why's. Why we couldn't carry the jar, why we had to be gentle or we would squish them. Safety was a top priority.


Careful placement of grass in the bottom of the jar was a necessity to provide food, and to give them a home...or so we thought. However, I always released mine before I went inside I was afraid they wouldn't survive in the jar until morning.


Looking out my door the past few weeks I have watched the fireflies light-up under the trees in my yard...little blinking lights everywhere. The positive memories of childhood places a desire inside me to recreate those moments again with others. I ask myself, why do we stop doing those pastime things? Do we think it's only for kids?


If I could write or speak one thing that would make a difference in someone's life "it would be" never ever stop enjoying things that bring you joy! Catching fireflies, swinging, roasting hot-dogs on an open fire...etc. You get the picture!


Being happy is good for the soul. Everyday make a choice to do one thing that brings a smile to your face. A merry heart is cheerful, and lively. Laughs are contagious!


I find laughing at myself always changes my mood...to a positive!


A wise person once told me --look in the mirror and say to yourself, "Well hello you good looking thing."


Now go try it yourself. Look yourself in the eye and speak those words to yourself audibly. You will smile! Enjoy your journey! Laughter is good for the soul.


Being a Christian doesn't mean that I have to give up laughter and joyful things. Scripture teaches me when I am cheerful and happy it has medicinal effects. Wow! So many blessing in serving the Lord.

 

Proverbs 17:22 A merry heart doeth good like a medicine: but a broken spirit drieth the bones.

 


bottom of page