top of page

2021




Did you stay up to watch the new year arrive? Happy New Year!


Did you fix the traditional New Year's meal? If you eat collard greens, black-eyed peas and corn bread you will have good luck for the entire year. A southern tradition I have cooked once in my lifetime. I love collard greens-- I love cornbread however, I would have to say yuck to black-eyed peas. Many add cabbage to the meal for prosperity. Never hurts to try! Right?

Are you ready for a new year? I'm ready to start a new year with a new outlook. Looking back over the past year I realize I have been so blessed! I have learned many lessons in my quiet time. COVID put a pause on life. I am grateful that I was able to work, worship, and spend time with my family at home throughout the year. I said in January that 2020 was a year that would bring clear vision...I didn't realize how true those words would be. I clearly understand how finite I am.


2020 definitely has been a year that we will never forget. Many lives have been lost to this horrible virus called COVID 19. So many reminders that we should cherish life every day. I don't like New Year's resolutions; however, I think I will make one this year. I want to be more thankful, more engaged, more joyful, more determined to not let 'things' of this world weight me down. The Word teaches me his mercies are new each morning. Wow!


We can't control all things that happen to us--we can control how we react! I'm reminded that I am to be thankful in all situations. Sometimes I want to feel sorry for myself because I can't go and do like I did before this horrific virus. One day---this too shall pass!


So with all that said---I am ready to say, "Hello 2021 I hope you treat us well."

I'm sure things will continue to be different; however, the one thing I can change is my perspective. So... starting January 01, 2021 I will make a conscience decision to be optimistic.


My prayer: Lord give me the right perspective, attitude, outlook, determination, will, and love to make 2021 a year that I will remember. Help me to practice the Golden Rule.

Lastly, God please remove this virus from our land. Have mercy upon us!

 

Lamentations 3:22-23 " It is of the Lord's mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness."



bottom of page